by Positive No

supported by
  • Streaming + Download

    Includes high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more. Paying supporters also get unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app.
    Purchasable with gift card

      name your price




Language is ever evolving. This is not a process exclusive to the people of a single
nation or a region; it is also a niche communication we develop between ourselves
and the people we interact with daily. Our individual life experiences and the environments
we call home help to further shape our dialect. The words we use, the
way we use them, they are our glossa. Our tongue. Our language.

Positive No’s debut full length release is entitled Glossa. These 12 songs are a
custom dictionary that illustrate and capture snapshots in time. Some are deeply
personal modern tales dotted with local color while other expressions reflect ancient
history from as far away as Iceland. Here guitars, bass, and drums burst like synchronized
fireworks (think dynamic energy of the Chapel Hill guitar bands in the ‘90s -
Archers of Loaf, Superchunk, and Polvo) while complex vocal melodies dart
between the rawness of PJ Harvey and the twee charge of Amelia Fletcher from
Heavenly. Lyrics are the fuel behind these moody pyrotechnics and for this reason
the band has also created a 7” x 7” 26 page full color book. Band member and
graphic designer Kenneth Close has produced a total of 12 unique art pieces
partnered with the lyrics. In turn every song on Glossa has been treated like a short
story worthy of its own book cover. For those who appreciate Factory Records or
4AD for their the album art as well as the music, this small book (that
also comes with a digital download to the record) will speak volumes. The meticulous
attention to detail in the music, the words, and the packaging is staggering.

Glossa was written by Kenneth Close & Tracy Wilson and then bound together
with two distinct groups of people who have helped to translate and communicate this
unique glossary. Positive No returned to the Magpie Cage in Baltimore, MD (J
Robbins’ studio) in January of 2015 to record Glossa. The studio band lineup
features the very same people who played on their EP Via Florum :
Kenneth Close (guitar), James Menefee (bass), Willis Thompson (drums),
and Tracy Wilson (vocals).

In the spring 2015 Positive No introduced a new rhythm section. The permanent
band lineup post recording of Glossa will include Sadie Powers of Dead
Fame and James O’Neill of Snowy Owls and Plain Scrap.


released September 18, 2015

Recorded in January 2015 by J.Robbins @ Magpie Cage in Baltimore, MD


all rights reserved



Negative Fun Records

Negative Fun Records used to just make seven-inch singles, then we sold out and made LP's, then we got greedy and started making cassettes, now we've completely forgotten our roots and make compact discs.

contact / help

Contact Negative Fun Records

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns

Redeem code

Report this album or account

Negative Fun Records recommends:

If you like Glossa, you may also like: